BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 17 of 23 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 170 of 226
  1. #161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haighus View Post
    It is now sold out in the UK.

    - - - Updated - - -



    Surely an Inquisitorial detachment with an Ordo Xenos Inquisitor and his henchpeople, alongside a Militarum Tempestus detachment? Then you would have an Ordo Xenos Inquisitorial task-force with attached Deathwatch and Inquisitorial Stormtrooper assets...
    Lack of AA, AT, and Transpo is what I meant by "gaps," but yeah, Scions can get me a lot of that for a modest cost. Trouble is, nothing can carry Seberei and you have to include him in the unit to take the whole Kill Team.

  2. #162

    Default

    Got it: Skitari, with Dune Crawlers & Ironstriders. Covers all the bases.

  3. #163
    Hivefleet Cobra-Kai
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    227

    Default New Genestealer Cult Rules

    via Fxeni, Dakkadakka 2-28-2016
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2db4f6ec3e26b77f541ea867521e9658_23180.jpg 
Views:	1465 
Size:	198.9 KB 
ID:	17615 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	99ff0b2c810dc8d8a25c1dbed3628ec0_23180.jpg 
Views:	1219 
Size:	60.3 KB 
ID:	17616
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	48807726c0511a019e460940d18bf077_23180.jpg 
Views:	1142 
Size:	54.0 KB 
ID:	17617 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a1736ac804d5f8d602d7a9f585069518_23180.jpg 
Views:	1103 
Size:	58.7 KB 
ID:	17618
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	b4aa297f237f6faabb571e91cc5141f9_23180.jpg 
Views:	1117 
Size:	77.3 KB 
ID:	17619 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	d0d7598b223c66efc336476e10717523_23180.jpg 
Views:	1062 
Size:	59.6 KB 
ID:	17620
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	e505d59e692c5d3027605179304f0ae5_23180.jpg 
Views:	1004 
Size:	55.4 KB 
ID:	17621 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	f43894d009da5e6736151e8104098515_23180.jpg 
Views:	1028 
Size:	59.2 KB 
ID:	17622

  4. #164

    Default

    The full formation actually looks pretty decent- turn one charges, and lots of infiltrating into good positions to take advantage of all those short-ranged weapons and melee units. The Shrouded on turn 1 is also good. I can see this being a useful tool for Tyranid players, perhaps would combo well with the Rising Leviathan Genestealer datasheets to really put a lot of pressure on an enemy force from very early in the game. Coupled with spods with some bigger things, this could be pretty aggressive.
    In the nightmare future of the 41st millennium, there is no time for peace. No respite. No Balance. There is only War.

  5. #165

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haighus View Post
    The full formation actually looks pretty decent- turn one charges, and lots of infiltrating into good positions to take advantage of all those short-ranged weapons and melee units. The Shrouded on turn 1 is also good. I can see this being a useful tool for Tyranid players, perhaps would combo well with the Rising Leviathan Genestealer datasheets to really put a lot of pressure on an enemy force from very early in the game. Coupled with spods with some bigger things, this could be pretty aggressive.
    Agreed. GSCs are rude.

    Also, is it just me, or are Purestrains objectively better than Codex Genestealers? I'd definitely take these over those anytime.

    In fact, since the named characters are the only Unique units in this set of Datasheets, spamming Purestrain Princelings looks like a viable strategy. Hopefully, you can take them in unit sizes greater than 2 in the Codex.
    Last edited by Andrew Thomas; 02-28-2016 at 07:08 PM.

  6. #166

    Default

    Looking through the WD rules, there's some weird issues. Like that the faction isn't actually noted anywhere. Or how you can, in theory, take an Allied Detachment with the "squad" as a Troops choice, and then one or two others as Fast Attack or Elites (being one-man one-Wound units), along with an Independent character who might be able to join units... if you knew what faction he was. We can all assume they're Imperial, but that's a huge detail to leave out. Ditto on whether you can include the units in a Space Marine army.

    The Blood Claw has a bolter. In my headcanon, he's not a Blood Claw. He's either an immature Grey Hunter, or a Wolf Guard who was just too annoying. (His backstory already is that he was just too annoying and got sent away.)

    The Terminator having a heavy flamer and meltagun is a bit overkill.

    Models look nice, but pretty much can only be assembled one way, which limits their use. But since this is a board game and they're primarily board game pieces, that's not really a problem.

    Though it's interesting they're aiming to market this board game to veteran players (i.e. existing customers). Not really in agreement on that strategy, but that's probably a tangent for a whole other topic.

  7. #167
    Veteran-Sergeant
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    West Coast Michigian
    Posts
    205

    Default

    The favored disciples have an autopistol, close combat weapon, and rending claws... does that mean they get +2A for the extra weapons? If so, that would be 4 attacks each and 5 on a charge for a total of 60 attacks on a charge.
    Yes I misspell stuff, you'll live.

  8. #168

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravingbantha View Post
    The favored disciples have an autopistol, close combat weapon, and rending claws... does that mean they get +2A for the extra weapons? If so, that would be 4 attacks each and 5 on a charge for a total of 60 attacks on a charge.
    Just 1 extra attack. Generally, you go by how many melee weapons are listed in their wargear and whether or not they have a keyword that affects the number of bonus attacks they grant, like Specialist Weapon or Daemon Weapon, for example. Some weapons will tell you whether they grant extra attacks in their rules, like the Sicarian's Prehensile Dataspike or the Warpsmith's Mechatendrils, but some have been denied in the RAW, like Servo-arms/Harnesses. Generally, a model can't claim more than one bonus attack from having multiple weapons, regardless of the number of weapons or limbs they possess, unless the model's or weapon's rules say otherwise.

  9. #169

    Default

    Patriarch has BS 0 so can not psychic shriek...this seems ridiculous....

  10. #170

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Erik Setzer View Post
    Looking through the WD rules, there's some weird issues. Like that the faction isn't actually noted anywhere. Or how you can, in theory, take an Allied Detachment with the "squad" as a Troops choice, and then one or two others as Fast Attack or Elites (being one-man one-Wound units), along with an Independent character who might be able to join units... if you knew what faction he was. We can all assume they're Imperial, but that's a huge detail to leave out. Ditto on whether you can include the units in a Space Marine army.
    This is answered on the inside cover of the WD, of all places ("How to use your free Deathwing rules pullout"). They're Deathwatch faction, and count as Armies of the Imperium on the Allies matrix.

    So you can take them as an Allied Detachment, but they aren't a Space Marines faction at this point.

 

 
Page 17 of 23 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •