BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum

Default LGS Project idea, rebuilding a WFB community..

So, taking some inspiration from similar projects I've tried in the past, Tale of 4 Gamers kind of stuff, etc.

Situation is, that in my LGS community, the WFB is a bit sparse. People are interested, but getting them into the same location at the same time to play can often be more tricky than people thing. Naturally, as a LGS manager, I want to continue building my sales and customer base.

I've got this idea for a community army building project, that would go something like I have outlined below:

The project can be joined by beginners or vets alike. But some commitment is required from all participants.

-- Everyone begins by purchasing an army book for the army they wish to begin
    -- Each participant purchases enough models to build an initial 500 pts. Participants could perhaps benefit from a certain level of discount.
    -- Next, everyone builds an army list for 500 pts, following the rules for army construction as closely as possible (25%+ Core, minimum 3 units, etc).
    -- The group has a month to paint the initial 500 pts, and in that time, we all get together to play 500 pt games, or allied games. Naturally, I would take part also. In addition to building a new army under a controlled, motivated environment, players also learn how to play the game and their new army.
    -- At the start of the second month, the participants buy another 250 pts worth of minis to add to their list, paint them up, and now we all play with 750 pts.
    -- The next month a further 250 pts is added, and so on and so on.. up to 2000 pts, at which point, the plan is that the LGS would have a rich WFB gaming community going.